Good Old Coleslaw

As a child, my Mum’s coleslaw somehow ended up gaining cult status. Even now when I go to visit I always hope that perhaps there is a bowl in the fridge waiting. Wherever I have been I have never had coleslaw like it, and a salad at home isn’t quite right without it, so finally I’ve decided to make it myself – It’s not quite the same, but it’s still pretty tasty if you ask me.

The below serves 3 or 4 portions, simply double up for more

You’ll Need

  • 1/4 Firm White Cabbage
  • 1 Large Carrot
  • 1/2 White Onion
  • 100ml Mayonnaise (I used homemade, but I know for family¬†tradition it should be Hellmanns!)
  • 50ml Salad Cream (Always Heinz)
  • Teaspoon Ground Black Pepper

To Make:

  • Shred the cabbage, julienne the carrots and roughly chop the onion I use a knife as it’s only a small amount
  • Mix the mayonnaise, salad cream and black pepper well and mix through the vegetables. Add extra pepper to taste
  • You can omit the salad cream if you prefer, but I think it adds a good tang
Leave a Reply

